Outside body

Mitcheson Bequest


The Mitcheson Bequest was established in 1955 by Sir George Mitcheson for the benefit of the poor of Heckmondwike.

Responsibility for appointing two trustees (‘nominative trustees’) was given to Heckmondwike Urban District Council and this role passed to Kirklees Council upon its formation in 1974.

The term of office for trustees is four years.

In addition, three co-optative trustees are nominated from individuals residing or carrying on business in or near to Heckmondwike; these trustees are not appointed by the council.

Contact information

Martin Dearnley & Graeme Wilde

Our representatives